Story highlights

  • Michigan’s lone national championship in men’s basketball was in 1989
  • Loyola won the national championship in 1963, its only other appearance in the Final Four

No. 3 Michigan has advanced to the national championship game with a 69-57 win over the 11th-seeded Ramblers, ending their magical run at the NCAA men’s Final Four in San Antonio on Saturday.

March Madness: Sister Jean stealing the show at the NCAA tournament

Michigan (33-7) will face either No. 1 seeds Villanova or Kansas, who play each other later Saturday night, in Monday’s national championship.

Moritz Wagner, a junior from Berlin, led the Wolverines with 24 points and 15 rebounds. He is the third player in the last 40 seasons to score at least 20 points and have 15 or more rebounds in a national semifinal game since Larry Bird in 1979 and Akeem Olajuwon (now known as Hakeem Olajuwon) in 1983. Junior Charles Matthews, who is from Chicago, added 17 points.

Freshman Cameron Krutwig led Loyola with 17 points, while redshirt junior Clayton Custer had 15.

Michigan likely won’t be favored heading into Monday night, but the Wolverines do have momentum. Michigan, who snapped Loyola’s 14-game winning streak, has now won 14 straight. That’s currently the longest active streak in Division I.

Michigan won the national championship in 1989 and is in the Final Four for the first time since 2013.

Notre Dame beats UConn, will face Mississippi State in NCAA Women's Championship

It’s the 26th time a team from the Big Ten Conference has reached the national championship game — the most by any conference.

Loyola (32-6) had aimed to make history by becoming the lowest seed to win an NCAA men’s basketball championship. Instead it will have to settle with being the lowest seed to reach the Final Four, tying the Ramblers with LSU (1986), George Mason (2006) and Virginia Commonwealth (2011). No 11 seed has ever advanced past the Final Four.

The Ramblers won the national championship in 1963, their only other appearance in the Final Four.

The lowest seed to win the NCAA men’s basketball championship is No. 8 Villanova in 1985.

Source link