Pro14 highlights: Dragons 32-32 Ulster
European Challenge Cup
Venue: Rodney Parade, Newport Date: Friday, 8 December Kick-off: 19:30 GMT
Coverage: Live BBC Sport Wales commentary online, BBC Sport website and BBC Sport app

Dragons rest their current Wales squad players for their European Challenge Cup tie against Russian side Enisei-STM on Friday.

Hallam Amos, Cory Hill and Elliott Dee are rested while prop Leon Brown has been undergoing head injury checks.

Half-backs Arwel Robson and 17-year-old Dan Babos make European debuts.

Wing Pat Howard, prop Thomas Davies, lock Rynard Landman and Robson come in as the four changes from the Pro14 draw at home against Ulster.

Veteran Wales utility back Gavin Henson drops to the bench, but prop Brok Harris faces a shoulder operation.

The Siberian side include Georgian centre Davit Katcharava, who played against Wales in November, and newly-signed Australian wing Richard Kingi, a former Queensland Reds, Melbourne Rebels and Stade Francais player.

It is the second of five home fixtures in a row for the Welsh region, and coach Bernard Jackman is keen to make the most of the run after heavy defeats in Munster and Leinster.

“We want our home games to be different, we call them Test weeks”, said the former Ireland hooker.

“We’re starting to build a bit of attachment with our fans, and we’ve got to reinforce that trust between us and our home fans.

“We can get a bit of extra momentum, with this weekend and next weekend (against Newcastle) leading us into the two Welsh derbies which we’re very excited about.”

Dragons’ Pool A rivals Newcastle and Bordeaux-Begles meet on Saturday at Kingston Park (15:15 GMT).

Newcastle have nine points from the first two rounds, with Bordeaux-Begles and the Dragons on six.

Dragons: Angus O’Brien, Pat Howard, Adam Warren, Jack Dixon, Jared Rosser, Arwel Robson, Dan Babos; Thomas Davies, Liam Belcher, Lloyd Fairbrother, Joe Davies, Rynard Landman, Aaron Wainwright, Ollie Griffiths (capt), James Benjamin.

Replacements; Gerard Ellis, Luke Garrett, Sam Hobbs, James Sheekey, Ben Roach, Owain Leonard, Gavin Henson, Robson Blake.

Enisei-STM; Ramil Gaisin, Richard Kingi, Davit Kacharava, Sergey Trishin, Federico Giliberti, Iurii Kushnarev, Alexey Shcherban; Andrei Polivalov, Stanislav Selskii, Innokentiy Zykov, Uldis Saulite, Evgeny Elgin, Vitalii Orlov, Mikheil Gachechiladze, Dmitrii Krotov.

Replacements; Shamil Magomedov, Valery Morozov, Vladimir Podrezov, Anton Rudoi, Aleksandr Budychenko, Konstantin Uzunov, Dmitriy Simonov, Maxim Gargalic.

Referee: Vlad Iordachescu (Romania)

Assistant referees: Alexandru Ionescu (Romania), Madalin Girbau (Romania)

Source link